Skip to main content

Sailing 101: Qualification

Erich Schlegel; USA TODAY

Sailing 101: Qualification

Learn more on the qualification criteria for Olympic sailing at the Rio Games.

A total of 380 sailors (274 boats) will compete in 10 classes at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. Each nation may earn one spot per class through a qualification system.  The host country, Brazil, was granted an automatic quota spot for all 10 classes.

Sailors had two opportunities to qualify a spot for their nation at the 2014 ISAF Sailing World Championships in Santander, Spain, where over 50 percent of each event's entry quota qualified. At the 2015 World Championships and the 2015/2016 Continental Qualification Events (Africa, Asia, Europe, Oceania, North and South America) the rest of the nations will have an opportunity to qualify for each class. 

Below are the total number of boats/nations competing in each event:
RS:X: 36
Laser: 46
Finn: 23
470: 26
49er: 20

RS:X: 26
Laser Radial: 37
470: 20
49erFX: 20

Nacra 17: 20

More from {{firstLevel.more_from}}




See More Coverage

More from {{secondLevel.more_from}}

More from Olympics