Skip to main content

Niccolo Campriani wins second gold medal of Rio

Niccolo Campriani wins second gold medal of Rio

Italian shooter Niccolo Campriani wins his second medal of Rio as he defends his 2012 gold medal in the 50m rifle 3 position event. 

Reigning gold medalist Niccolo Campriani earns his second gold medal of Rio as he wins the men’s 50m rifle 3 position event. 

The 28-year-old Italian led after both the kneeling phase and the prone phase. During the standing portion of the event, Campriani and silver medalist Sergey Kamenskiy traded the lead. 

Campriani and Kamenskiy were always far enough away from the rest of the competitors that the gold medal was going to be battled for between the two. 

The excitement came on the final shot for the last standing shooters. Kamenskiy held a 0.6 advantage over Campriani, and Campriani fired a subpar 9.2 to seemingly hand the gold medal to the Russian.

However, Kamenskiy shot a dismal 8.3 to shock the crowd and give the gold medal back to the reigning champion. 

Niccolo Campriani,Sergey Kamenskiy,Alexis Raynaud

Gold medalist Niccolo Campriani, center, of Italy is flanked by silver medalist Sergey Kamenskiy, left, of Russia and bronze medalist Alexis Raynaud, right, of France during the award ceremony for the men's 50m rifle 3 positions event at Olympic Shooting Center at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Sunday, Aug. 14, 2016. Credit: (AP Photo/Eugene Hoshiko)

Earlier in the week, Campriani took home the 10m air rifle gold medal as well. For Italy, this is their seventh shooting medal of Rio, the most they have ever won at a single Olympic Games. 

Kamenskiy, 28, earns Russia’s fourth shooting medal of Rio. The Olympic debutant also finished fourth in the prone shooting event. His compatriot, Fedor Vlasov, was near the top of the leaderboard until he misfired and scored a 5.7. He would ultimately exit in seventh place.

U.S. shooter Matt Emmons failed to make the final; he finished 19th in qualifications. 

The final standings are as follows:
1.    Niccolo Campriani (Italy)
2.    Sergey Kamenskiy (Russia)
3.    Alexis Raynaud (France)
4.    Daniel Brodmeier (Germany)
5.    Andre Link (Germany)
6.    Zhu Qinan (China)
7.    Fedor Vlasov (Russia)
8.    Ole Kristian Bryhn (Norway)

More from {{firstLevel.more_from}}




See More Coverage

More from {{secondLevel.more_from}}

More from Olympics